In 1872 a family of migrating freed slaves arrived from Edisto South Carolina to Jacksonville, Duval County, Florida. They settled in the area known as “Loretta,” Florida. Because of the jubilance experienced by those whom God had allowed to see their freedom this group didn’t stop until there was a church established in which they could continue their thanksgiving and praise. With Reverend Green as their first Pastor they founded a church and named it after the creek that flowed near by, “Julington.” Although this church is often by some referred to as “Julington creek,” the creek was never a part of the name.
Providentially it would be a church where many members and spiritual leaders would receive their beginning and training in church leadership. To research the history of this church would reveal a surprising who’s who in church tradition for Jacksonville, Florida.
At one time Julington was referred to as the church where up and coming Pastors received their first opportunity in ministry. This trend of having a Pastor for a few years only to lose him to a larger church ended under Pastor McClain. Under the Hand of Christ, His servant has lead Julington from the “creek,” to a sea of spiritual souls immersed in the teachings, worship, praise, and love of God.
Pastor N. Jerome McClain, Sr. and his family joined Julington in July/1980. Pastor McClain has continued to guide Julington through the maze of growth from a two Sunday fellowship to the present Multicultural/Multiethnic Church with a proto-typical administration of church leaders, teachers, and ministers reaching across many barriers sowing the seed of the Word of Christ. Julington moved from 13061 Old St Augustine Rd. to the present location during the winter of 1986. Many have come to Julington with the intentions of visiting only to find themselves many years later yet enjoying the blessing of worship as functional members.